kivatown

BRING ME THE SUN pilot script! scenes 1-5

I first got the idea of this story in the spring of 2018 during an early cinema history class. I wrote the title crawl you're about to read in the summer of 2019, but did not start writing the rest until spring 2021. The initial first draft was completed the following year in spring 2022.


FADE IN:

THOMAS EDISON INVENTED CINEMA -- ACCORDING TO THE MYTH.

HE PATENTED ALL HIS CAMERAS AND TECHNOLOGY, MEANING ANYONE (IN THE U.S.A.) WHO DESIRED TO PRODUCE A MOVING PICTURE MUST PAY MR. EDISON TO DO SO. FAILURE TO DO SO WOULD RESULT IN CONSEQUENCES OF ALL KINDS, WHICH WE SHALL SOON SEE.

IN THIS THE CON-MEN AND ARTISTS WERE ALIKE IN THEIR DISLIKE. BUT, PERHAPS, ARTISTS AND CON-MEN ARE ONE AND THE SAME.

THE STORY BEFORE YOU SHALL FOLLOW ONE SUCH EARLY FILMMAKER AND HIS PURSUIT FROM THAT MR. THOMAS EDISON. WHICH IS TO SAY,

THIS IS THE ORIGIN MYTH OF AMERICAN CINEMA AND THEIR MANIFEST DESTINY TOWARD THE "HAVEN" KNOWN AS HOLLYWOODLAND.

EXT. NEW JERSEY - DRY MEADOW - DAY

KABILI
Uhh, Adam?

ADAM
I mean, what the hell's the matter with you three? I am paying you to act out a simple romance! Meanwhile you two act as if you're related and YOU look more miserable that Mary Todd on a Friday night.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
My tummy huuurts.

ADAM (OFF CAMERA)
That's actually not my problem.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
Um, yeah, she's my sister?

ADAM
Jesus Christ.

ELEANOR (O.C)
Adam.

ADAM
WHAT?

ADAM
Billy, God damn it, I told you to keep an eye out for the goons. Now go back up the hill or go home before I--.

ADAM
Jesus CHRIST.

ADAM
Places! Get to your places! Before we lose sunlight!

ADAM
Elly, come on, get up.

ELEANOR
Do I have to?

ADAM
Yes, get up. Get up. Get UP.

ELEANOR
Don't touch my chair.

ADAM
(taken aback)
I'm sorry.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
I.. goodness, I can hardly breathe!

ELEANOR
Girl, just get out of bed. Like, those are wool blankets.

ADAM
Stay there! We're gonna star shooting.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3 May I have some water?

ELEANOR
Of course!-

ADAM
(at the same time as "of course")
Absolutely not.

ELEANOR CONT'D
-Just a sec: hey, hi, what is wrong with you?

ADAM
Nothing in particular, El, but it would be nice to prioritize our problems in the correct order and at the moment I see an awfully big cloud eclipsing God.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
I'm freaking out.

ADAM
Jesus.
(pulls out FLASK)
Here, gin.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
(finally sitting up)
Are you crazy!?

ADAM
KABILI!

KABILI
No sign of them yet!

ADAM
No, idiot, get down here!

VAUDEVILLE #1
My tum tum really hurts.

ADAM
Ok, so I don't want to hear that ever again. You're 30 years old.
(Kabili arrives)
Fetch some water for that broad.

KABILI
But I don't have water.

ADAM
(livid)
The stream. Go.

ELEANOR
I need a drink.

EXT. NEW JERSEY - FOREST STREAM - MOMENTS LATER

EXT. NEW JERSEY - DRY MEADOW - MEANWHILE

ELEANOR
See? Didn't kill me.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
Yes, but...
(looks at Adam nervously then whispers)
It turns them into wife beaters.

ELEANOR
Would you beat your wife?

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
Well, at the moment I -- no, I would not.

ELEANOR
Good!

ELEANOR
(pointing and smiling)
Swallow it. Right now.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
I did it!

ELEANOR
You did it.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
Wait, you aim at me? Or,

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
Oh, I don't know.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
My thinking is my sister is your wife, so you'd be mad at her.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
That makes sense. You're the one who slept with her, though, so I could be mad at you.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
True, true...

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
Oh! What if I point it at myself?

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
I see. Man versus self. Brilliant.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
Adam, can I point the gun at myself?

ADAM
No.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
Oh, ok. W-who do I point it at?

ADAM
HIM!

#1 nods, then aims at #2 again.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
...What now?

ADAM
Ok, you know what?

ADAM
(to #1 and #2)
You got your parts down. Really! Keep it up.
(to #3)
I'll take that. You're welcome, by the way.
(grabs flask)
El, can you get on the camera, please? You three, places... NOW!?

ADAM
I swear, if we don't shoot this scene in the next TWO minutes all fired. Hell, I'll get some actors from that other stupid theater.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
Now the Lumpy Lady!?

ADAM
PLACES!

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
SORRY!

ADAM
(under his breath)
Christ in heaven.

ADAM
We rolling?

ELEANOR
(cranking camera lever)
Uh-huh.

ADAM
Ok. Go!

ADAM
Oh, GOD DAMN IT, stop! Christ!

ADAM
Get UP. C'mon, we still have-

ADAM
Great.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1 (O.C.)
Oof, my tum tum!

ADAM
Well, gentlemen, it's nice to see you again. Shall we resume the destruction of my livelihood?

ADAM
Fantastic, I'll take that as a yes.

ADAM
Wonderful, Thanks, boys! That was probably for the best.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2 (O.C.) Now just one minute, good sirs! I happen to be performing as Lorenzo in The Merchant of Venice next week and I- no, wait! Achh!!

ADAM
No yeah, that's good. Slap 'em around a bit. Do whatever you want!

SET BUILDER
Adam, I don't know what to say. They dragged me out of bed! Said they'd shut down my business if I didn't show 'em where I built your lil house.

ADAM
It's not a "house" you nincompoop!

SET BUILDER
But the other day you said--.

ADAM
Never mind what I said! How did they FIND OUT?

SET BUILDER
Well, when me and the boys rode back to the city the other day, there they were at the station asking where we came from and what we were doing.

ADAM
And what did you tell them, hmm?

SET BUILDER
I thought they wanted to do business wiht us! Y'know, free pub-lickity?

ADAM
(throws arms up)
YOUR MISTAKES TRANSCEND TIME!

GOON #1
Mr. Edison sends his regards.

ADAM
Eddy can choke on a fat one.

GOON #2
(stops, turns round)
Oh and uh, don't follow us next train out. Last time was awkward.

ADAM
Gosh, boys, I'm sorry. You know what's awkward? Waking up one day and finding myself an outlaw in my own career!
(lowers voice)
Fucking pigs.

ELEANOR
FUCKING PIGS!!

ADAM
Thanks, Elly.

INT. TRAIN TO NYC - WHITE PASSENGER CAR - LATER

INT. TRAIN TO NYC - COLORED PASSENGER CAR - MEANWHILE