kivatown

BRING ME THE SUN pilot script! scenes 17-28

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - BEDROOM - LATER

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
(quick to panic)
Um, Eleanor.. !

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
Do you see it?

ELEANOR
That better not be you, Sully.

ADAM (O.C.)
Yeah, it's me.

ELEANOR
(sticks head out window)
You are the biggest idiot, did you know that? Hey, Kabili.

ADAM
Look what we got!

ELEANOR
(squints)
God, the clouds are so heavy. I can hardly see! Whatcha got there?

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - MAIN ROOM - LATER

ELEANOR
California!?

ADAM
Yeah, California.

ADAM
Sounds good, huh?

ELEANOR
Maybe, but I hate Taylor.

ADAM
Whaaat? Why?

ELEANOR
Don't know... I find it difficult to trust his reasoning, I suppose.

ADAM
Forget trust. Wanna join?

ELEANOR
How'd we get there? How 'bout rent?

KABILI
My ma lives in Chicago. If we could catch a boat or a train, we'd have a place to stay for a little while.

ADAM
Billy, that's perfect! Shit, we could catch Taylor's premiere.

ELEANOR
Think back to this all encompassing conversation with Taylor: did it INVITE you to his premiere?

ADAM
It was implied.

ELEANOR
Oh? And do we have any authoritative quotations available to reinforce said implication?

ADAM
El, I cannot recall how I got from the alleyway to this chair. It would be impossible or me to recite old sentences just to debunk your cynical but reasonably fair line of questioning.

ELEANOR
You were shouting "look what I stole" down the hallway. Mr. Doyle threatened to flog you for waking him up.

ADAM
(giggles)
That man frightens me.

KABILI
When should we leave? To Chicago.

ADAM
Hey, I could leave today.

ELEANOR
I have a march to attend later.

ADAM
Boooo.

ELEANOR
(a physical punch for every word)
Don't - boo - women's - suffrage, - Adam!
(Adam falls out of chair)
Sorry. Kind of. You know, I'm still boiling about that short.

ADAM
(climbing back up to chair)
Which one?

ELEANOR
Remember? The other day. That suffragette hit-piece we caught at the nickelodeon? I mean, it made us look.. MANLY. Gorilla arms?
(shudders, punches palm)
Who the hell made that filth? That's what I wanna know.

ADAM
(clears throat)
Taylor.

ELEANOR
Oh, good. Great! I prefer my hating others be reinforced with receipts.

ADAM
They were only commissioning his talents, El, not his ideas.

ELEANOR
It LOOKED ugly, Adam.

ADAM
Yeah, that's true... Effective filmmaking, though.

ELEANOR
I don't care.

ADAM
Wait, so what's the plan today?

KABILI
What about the set?

EXT. NEW JERSEY - DRY MEADOW - MEANWHILE

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - MAIN ROOM - MEANWHILE

ADAM
Maybe let's pay it a visit. Grab what we can... I cannot believe they ripped the whole God damn ro-.

KABILI
My aunt.

ADAM AND ELEANOR
Your aunt!?

KABILI
She knows where both of you live.

ADAM
Alright. Prob'ly kicked my door down already.

ELEANOR
Well, I don't want THAT.

MR. DOYLE
Now look here, young, lady, I've worked too hard in my life to lose out on a good night's rest! Surely whatever business you have here can wait. Now get out!

KABILI'S AUNT
(at the same time as Mr. Doyle's rant)
Don't you go talking to me in that tone- YOUNG LADY? Do I LOOK like a young lady? You still asleep? Helloo? White ass nightgown and ha- I will go where I want whenev--!
(looks left)
Don't just stand there, honey, SAY something!

KABILI'S UNCLE
See, it's.. we're looking for our nephew, sir, and we're very sorry to have woken you up.

KABILI'S AUNT
No we are NOT.

MR. DOYLE
I saw a young negro with Ms. Eleanor.

KABILI'S AUNT
YOU.

KABILI'S AUNT
Come here.

KABILI'S AUNT
Better start telling me just where you were in the middle of the night and you'd better start fast! I have to go to work, are you trying to get me fired, boy? Your uncle was scared sick.

ADAM
Three cheers for growing up an orphan.

ELEANOR
Hip-hop hooray.

ADAM
So! Uuuuuuuhhhhhhhhh--

ADAM
--uuuuhhhhhhh HEY! Could you pass me the camera?

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
Huh? Oh.
(passes camera)
Y'know, stealing all this stuff was unwise. Unnecessary, even.

ADAM
(examining camera)
Thanks. Are you coming with, by the way? To California.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
Nah, gotta stick with my brother.

ADAM
Oh, they can come along too. It'd be good to have a couple o' thespians in arms reach.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
They're not going.

ADAM
(lowers camera)
What do you mean? I haven't even pitched it to 'em yet.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
Well, for one thing, they don't want to work for you anymore.

ADAM
WHAT!?

EXT. NYC - SAN JUAN HILL - SOAKED STREET - DAWN

KABILI'S AUNT
Just wait till your mom hears about this. Sneaking around in the middle of the night with some cracker!

KABILI
My boss. Who I like.

KABILI'S AUNT
I don't. You shouldn't. Same goes for those sluts.

KABILI
My coworkers.

KABILI'S AUNT
Not anymore they ain't.

KABILI
What the hell does that mean?

KABILI'S AUNT
Boy, you'd better shut that mouth. My sister didn't ship her son here to become a weaselly smart alack.

KABILI
Then why'd she give him away?

KABILI'S AUNT
She thought he needed a father figure. I think what he really needs is a whole lot of discipline.

KABILI
And what does any of that have to do with me?

KABILI'S AUNT
That's what. Now hurry up.

KABILI
Watch it.

KABILI'S AUNT
KABILI!

KABILI'S AUNT
What in the world has gotten into you, boy? I'm already late!

KABILI
Don't call me boy.

KABILI'S AUNT
Well, you ain't acting like a man now, are you? Throwing a little temper tantrum like that.

KABILI
If this is a temper tantrum then what are you doing?

KABILI'S AUNT
You know? I really do not have time for this.
(to the uncle)
Take him home now.
(shakes head at Kabili)
I am ashamed of you.

INT. NYC - OFF BROADWAY THEATER - MORNING

ADAM
Gentlemen! Good morning!

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
It was a good morning.

ADAM
Wonderful! Say, how'd you like to go on a little trip with us to li- uh... a place that's.. Chicago.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
(feigning interest)
Oh? What's so good about Chicago?

ADAM
I'd like to shoot a drama there. Serious MacBeth stuff. Pardon my language.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
You wanna rehire us? Well, Lumpy Lady's down a block.

ELEANOR
..We never fired you.

#1 looks at #2.

Vaudeville Actor #2
(clears throat)
Mr. Smith, we are no longer interested in working for you.

ADAM
What a shame, I was thinking you could travel with us to California.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
(actually interested)
California!? Why?

ADAM
Oh, you haven't heard about the imminent exodus from the Trust's sovereignty? Whole film industry. No big deal.

ELEANOR
Basically, we're running from the guys who beat you up.

ADAM
I seem to recall you once told me the majority of your income is from playing in movies, no?

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
Well.. yes. BUT it's not like we get any credit. It merely foots the bill for this place, our true role as thespians!

ADAM
Ok, from here on out you're in the credits. First and last names.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
Wait, really!?

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #3
(still picking paint)
What's my name?

ELEANOR
Wwooowww, Adam, what's wong with you? Beautiful name, you know.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
Excuse us for a moment.

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
(hoarse whisper)
Just say it again!

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
You say it!

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #1
Mr. Smith, we are no longer interested in working fo-.

ADAM
What do you mean!? You JUST sounded interested!

VAUDEVILLE ACTOR #2
Sorry! But we have a play to rehearse.

ADAM
Alright, stay in this dump. Just remember this moment when I end up in the headlines and you're still here, selling six tickets a show.

ELEANOR
Adam.

INT. NYC - SAN JUAN HILL - AUNT'S APT - KABILI'S ROOM - DAY

MOMENTS LATER

MOMENTS LATER

INT. TRAIN TO NEW JERSEY - COLORED PASSENGER CAR - LATER

The train is no less busy today than yesterday. Perhaps not as jovial -- at least concerning Kabili, who watches the drying countryside soak in the Sun.

EXT. NEW JERSEY - DRY MEADOW - LATER

GOON #1
Careful with that!

GOON #2
I'm careful.

GOON #1
No, you're not.

GOON #2
Yes, I am!

GOON #2
Ah, who cars about care, anyway!

GOON #1
Me. They could use this stuff back at the studio.

GOON #2
I thought we were repossessing. That's stealing!

GOON #1
Tomato, tomato. Now help me break down the bed.

GOON #2
Christ, I thought there was a boar in there.

GOON #1
There aren't no boars in Jersey!

EXT. NEW JERSEY - FOREST STREAM - MOMENTS LATER

ELEANOR (O.C.)
(deep voice)
Ok, missy, this here's a stick up!

ADAM (O.C.)
Shh! Get down!

ELEANOR
No, look! It's only Kabili.

ADAM
Oh! Hey, Billy.

ELEANOR
How you holding up? She yelled at you pretty bad, huh?

KABILI
Yeah.

ELEANOR
You ok?

KABILI
I'm getting there.

ADAM
(pointing at suitcase)
Whatcha got there?

KABILI
Some clothes. A notebook.

ELEANOR
So you're ready to go?

KABILI
I guess so.

ELEANOR
Great!

ADAM
Oh, God.

KABILI
You ok?

ADAM
No, I'm sober.

ELEANOR
Wow, took you this long?

ADAM
Maybe I was distracted or something, I don't know. But... I am beginning to fully recall my going to California idea.

KABILI
Right.

ELEANOR
(kneeling down)
It's a good idea.

ADAM
Is it?

ELEANOR
..Yeah!

ADAM
'Cause I'm starting to have second thoughts. And thirds. Fourths.. Basically there's a million thoughts pointing towards no.

ELEANOR
Like what?

ADAM
Will they even like my movies? Or me?

ELEANOR
Ok, alright. Well, that's a lot to unpack right now.

ADAM
Yeah to be honest, I'm exhausted.

KABILI
The little no's: do they outweigh the yes? However few or many?

ADAM
Hmm. No, I don't think they do.

ELEANOR
Then it's settled. When do we leave?

KABILI
Let's hop on the next train.

ELEANOR
The camera's in my apartment.

ADAM
(facepalming again)
Jesus CHRIST.

ELEANOR
(slaps Adam)
Ah, shut up. Both of us need to pack, you know.

ADAM
I do, but I was thinking about how we stole a camera.

ELEANOR
YOU stole a camera.

KABILI
We.

ADAM
You know, California's quite far.

KABILI
Aim for Chicago first.

ELEANOR
We could get there in a day by train.

ADAM
I'm not necessarily worried about time.

ELEANOR
What do you mean?

ADAM
Maybe I'm severely deprived of sleep, but I am getting the paranoid sense that Edison's goons are cracking down on us. I mean, they're up there right now tearing down MY set.

ELEANOR
And my chair.

KABILI
You think they're after us?

ADAM
That guard did spot us.

ELEANOR
There was a security guard!?

ADAM
Well, yes.

ELEANOR
And he SPOTTED you two?

ADAM
Mhm. Didn't I mention that?

ELEANOR
NO!!

KABILI
Shh!

ADAM
To be fair, he was REALLY old. And napping. Maybe he forgot to report.

KABILI
He would've had to because you put a hole in that wall.

ADAM
Wait, that's true.

ELEANOR
You did what..

ADAM
With my head.

ELEANOR
Oh, Je-ho-VAH.

ADAM
Yeah, so they're probably after us.

ELEANOR
Got anything left?

ADAM
In my flask? No. Need some?

ELEANOR
It would help.

KABILI
What if we went up the Erie Canal?

ADAM
It might throw them off our scent. What's the fare?

KABILI
Not sure. $10 dollars?

ADAM
God damn, that's almost all the cash I've got left.

KABILI AND ELEANOR
Yup.

ADAM
Alright, gang.

ADAM
Let's go to Chicago.