kivatown

BRING ME THE SUN pilot script! scenes 29-47

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - MAIN ROOM - LATER

ELEANOR
You know, it's just occurred to me: I don't have a suitcase.

KABILI
What? How?

ELEANOR
I've never really gone anywhere.. Let's share?

KABILI
Uh-.

ELEANOR
Thanks!

ELEANOR (O.C.)
Wow, I actually have a lot of junk!

KABILI
What are you going to do?

ELEANOR (O.C.)
Most I'll leave behind. I don't need this.. this life! A series of one night stands. Sorry, TMI.

KABILI
The hats? The makeup? The jewelry?

ELEANOR (O.C.)
Hang on now, I never said all that.
(the rummaging stops)
Uhhh... makeup.
(heavy thump)
Annd,

KABILI
Think it'll take Adam long to pack?

ELEANOR (O.C.)
No, but don't remind me.

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - DRUG STORE - MEANWHILE

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - ADAM'S APT - MOMENTS LATER

ADAM
Christ in heaven.

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - ALLEYWAY - CONTINUOUS

GOON #3
Where's the camera, Sullivan?

ADAM
Sorry.. camera? 'Fraid I don't know what you mean, boys! Mine got smashed ohh.. yesterday, unfortunately. You see, one of your buddies -- two of 'em, actually -- they got a bit excited and-.

GOON #3
A nigger and a potato-eater broke into Eddy's place last night. I see a sleepy ginger with bags under his thievin' eyes. Don't play dumb.

ADAM
Umm, uuhhh.

ADAM
Wow! Deus Ex Linguine!

ITALIAN COOK
Ayy, what the fuck are you-a doing!
(notices goons)
Ai!

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - RESTAURANT - CONTINUOUS

ADAM
Shhhh.

ADAM
You try eating a fucking rotten potato. Day in. Day out. S'not fun! Think we deserved it, huh? Starvi-
(to server)
You really oughta quit.

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - MAIN ROOM - MEANWHILE

ELEANOR
Okay.. I'm... uh!
(slams suitcase on table)
Ready!

ELEANOR
Oh, shoot. I forgot about that.. thing. Um.

ELEANOR
Here, trade.

ELEANOR
This is uh.. yeah.

KABILI
Mhm!

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - THRIFT STORE - MEANWHILE

GOON #5
Alright, John Henry. You seen a Irishman run by?

GOON #5
(kicks his shoe)
Don't be a bum now. Fess up or-.

INT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - MAIN ROOM - MEANWHILE

ELEANOR
I don't wanna do this anymore.

KABILI
What? Really?

ELEANOR
No, just felt like the right thing to say. This is depressing, though. Give me a hand?

ELEANOR
(grabs his arm)
Wait! I can't part with that hat. Can you wear it?

KABILI
What!?

ELEANOR
(grabs skirt off floor)
And this.

KABILI
Out THERE!?

ELEANOR
Absolutely. A disguise!

KABILI
(blushes)
I can't do that.

ELEANOR
Why not?

KABILI
I don't look like a lady.

ELEANOR
Oh, please. Just give us a falsetto and you'll be fine. No -- that's bad advice. Let me think... speak on the tip of your tongue, feel the words in your face, enunciate, smile -- or don't, and make them wish you would.

ELEANOR
Less heads would turn if we were girlfriends. Pointless as it is, we both know mixed couples don't fly.

KABILI
Should I shave?

LATER

ELEANOR (O.C.)
Ok, let's go.

ELEANOR (O.C.)
After you, madam. Also, where are we meeting?

KABILI (O.C.)
The Chelsea Piers.

ELEANOR (O.C.)
Ok.

KABILI (O.C.)
Eleanor, I look absurd.

ELEANOR (O.C.)
Absurd is good!

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - E'S APT - MOMENT'S LATER

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Hello, Eleanor!

ELEANOR
...hhhhiiiiii.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
We were beginning to assume you had slept in so we thought it'd be best if we checked in on you before we start the march.

ELEANOR
Aw, that's very thoughtful!

SUFFRAGETTE #2
You're still marching, right?

ELEANOR
Yes!... um... actually, uh.. just now I was uhh.. planning! Aaaa new route! for us to march.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Really? Whereto?

ELEANOR
......Chelsea Piers.

SUFFRAGETTE #3
Wait, no Central Park? Because I made my sign look like a tree.

ELEANOR
Oh. It looks really good!

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Eleanor, wouldn't we reach a wider demographic in the park?

ELEANOR
No, no think about it! At the piers uh, there's tourists and sailors. Annnd what better way to spread our message than on ship?

SUFFRAGETTE #2
Wow, you are SO right.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Well, then! It's settled. Chelsea Piers today, the park another time.

SUFFRAGETTE #3
(clicks tongue)
Darn.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
By the way, who is this?

ELEANOR
Oh! Um, this is Kabili.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Hello, Kabili! That's a very pretty name. Quite foreign.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Are you marching too?

ELEANOR
Yes!

SUFFRAGETTE #2
What's the suitcase for?

ELEANOR
The suitcase! That's uh-.

SUFFRAGETTE #1
Well, let her speak, Eleanor.

KABILI
(femme voice)
Hello.

ALL SUFFRAGETTES
Hi.

ELEANOR
Hey, does anyone have an extra sign and some tape?

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - PROTEST AVENUE - LATER

ELEANOR
WE WILL NOT BE SILENCED!!
(to Kabili)
I wonder where Adam is.

KABILI
(femme voice)
Yeah.
(turns around)
Wait, is that Adam?

GOON #3
Get out of the way!

ALL SUFFRAGETTES
WE WILL NOT BE SILENCED!!

GOON #3
Get the fuck out of the way, you filthy bulldykes!

EXT. NYC - HELL'S KITCHEN - DELIVERY STREET - MOMENTS LATER

PROUD DAD
Well, son, here it is! Our first piano.

SON
It's so big!

PROUD DAD
Y'know, it reminds me of when I was your age.

SON
You were a kid once!?

PROUD DAD
Sure was! I used to go to my grandma's house and just listen to her play for hours. She's your great grandma.

SON
Oh. Where is she?

PROUD DAD
Resting in heaven. But I think she's looking down on us and I think she's smiling.

ADAM
I'll give you two bucks if you take me to the Chelsea Piers.

He holds up a wrinkly two dollar bill.

TRUCK DRIVER
(takes the money)
Deal!

EXT. NYC - CHELSEA PIERS - LATER

ADAM
Billy, what are you wearing?

KABILI
I don't know.

ADAM
Same. Where's the camera?
(Kabili holds up suitcase)
And the tripod?
(Eleanor displays the sign)
Oh! Didn't notice.

ELEANOR
Where's the boat?

ADAM
Pier 54.

INT. NYC - CHELSEA PIERS - TICKET BOOTH - MOMENTS LATER

ADAM
Hi, next boat to Chicago.

TICKET MAN
$12.38 per.

ADAM
What!?

TICKET MAN
T-welve dollars and thirty-eight cents per person!

ADAM
Does anyone have two quarters!?

ADAM
Please! Please, anybody! A quarter, a dime!... A nickel!

KABILI
Uhh, Adam?

ADAM
...a penny?

ELEANOR
Hey, Adam.

INT./EXT. NYC - CHELSEA PIERS - PIER 54 - MOMENTS LATER

ELEANOR
By the way, where's your luggage?

ADAM
Elly, if I were to think about anything that has just transpired my head would explode.

KABILI'S UNCLE
What are you doing?

KABILI
I'm going home.

EXT. STEAMBOAT - STERN - HUDSON RIVER - LATER

ELEANOR
Remember when it was brown?

ADAM
(yawns)
I don't remember anything.

EXT. STEAMBOAT - DECK - HUDSON RIVER - MEANWHILE

STRANGER (O.C.) Sad to see it go?

KABILI
(femme voice)
Yes.

STRANGER
Me too. Thought I'd spend my whole life there, yet here I am.

STRANGER
What brings you to Chicago?... Sorry, it's rude of me to pry.

KABILI
(femme voice)
My mother.

STRANGER
Oh! Chicago's your home?
(Kabili shakes head)
..Ever been?
(Kabili shakes head)
Me either.

KABILI
(femme voice)
Are you excited?

STRANGER
Sure am. Who knows what the future'll bring.

STRANGER
Say, when we dock in a couple days, how about we explore the city together?

KABILI
(femme voice)
Why?

STRANGER
Well, it'd be nice to have some company and I think you're very beautiful.

KABILI
(femme voice)
Excuse me.

INT. STEAMBOAT - ADAM'S ROOM - LATER

ADAM
Come in.

ELEANOR
Just wanted to check in before you crashed. Bread?

ADAM
Thanks.

ELEANOR
Mhm. Do you know where Kabili is?

ADAM
Haven't seen him in a few hours. Why?

ELEANOR
Just curious. Plus he has my clothes.

ADAM
Oh, yeah. What are you gonna do?

ELEANOR
I don't know, nap nude or something.
(swallows bread)
Anyway, I'm going to go figure out my predicament, because I am utterly exhausted.

ADAM
Hey, uh..

ELEANOR
Hmm?

ADAM
If you want, you could sleep here.

ELEANOR
Goodnight.

EXT. SPACE

FADE OUT.

END OF PILOT.