kivatown

BRING ME THE SUN pilot script! scenes 6-16

EXT. NYC - GREENWICH VILLAGE - DARK STREET - NIGHT

INT. NYC - GREENWICH VILLAGE - BOHEMIAN BAR - CONTINUOUS

ELEANOR
Are you going to join them, Mr. O'Sullivan?

ADAM
(muffled)
Please don't call me that.

ELEANOR
I do wish we would film stuff like this instead. Those plots of yours are so contrived. And our sets are a joke.

ADAM
The lights aren't bright enough.

ELEANOR
What? I can't hear you, babe.

ADAM
I've lost all my money, Eleanor.
(shrugs)
Nobody's content to watch pictures move anymore. The pictures need stupid stories to fill their stupid heads. If there's a film stock fast enough to capture this dim light well, hardly matters anymore.. Forget Edison and the Trust, I don't know how I'm gonna pay rent.

ELEANOR
The stories don't have to be stupid.

ADAM
They do if you want butts in seats.

ELEANOR
Adam O'Sullivan, I do believe you are a pessimist.

ADAM
Please don't call me that.

ELEANOR
Sorry -- and I think you think very little of the common man.

ADAM
El, you know me well.

ELEANOR
Y'know, there'some really talented people here tonight.

ADAM
I said "I'm aware."

ELEANOR
Ever regret your lack of approach?

ADAM
Only once I go to bed.

ELEANOR
It's nearing bedtime.

ADAM
I'm not tired.

ELEANOR
You're pretty insufferable tonight. Do you know that?

ADAM
That's my talent.

ELEANOR
In that case, I'm off to my date.

ADAM
It's late.

ELEANOR
Nevertheless, she's waiting.

ADAM
That broad I hired for the shoots?

ELEANOR
Yes, the thespian you could barely afford. She has a name, you know.

ADAM
What's her name?

ELEANOR
I'm leaving. Go make some friends if you start feeling lonely.

ADAM
Ok, be safe.
(as she leaves)
If you get her name, let me know!

ADAM
What do I know?

EXT. SPACE - ABOVE EARTH - DAY/NIGHT

ADAM
I know I wasn't made to know THIS much. When did evolution get out of hand, Charles? At what point, in my quest to describe where I found the tasty berries in the jungle, was I allowed to know how to operate a camera? And what the hell is my problem anyway, Friedrich? Georges, you wonderful son of a bitch, hold my hand. I depend upon your outlook of life. Hold on a minute, who's that?

TAYLOR
Adam?

ADAM
Taylor?

TAYLOR
Adam!! Adam, hi!

ADAM
Hey, Taylor!

TAYLOR
Get over here!

ADAM
I can't move!

TAYLOR
(starts swimming)
That's alright! I'm coming!

ADAM
Okayyyy!

INT. GREENWICH VILLAGE - BOHEMIAN BAR - LATER

TAYLOR
Say, O'Sullivan, how's your film coming along?

ADAM
Please don't call me that.

TAYLOR
Huh?

MC
Let's have another round of applause here for the cowboy!

TAYLOR
I'm confused! Your name's O'Sullivan, is it not?

ADAM
Not anymore.

MC
Now I ask every week and I'm gonna ask agin, though I expect the same answer: what's your name, partner?

COWBOY
Shoot. Reckon I don't have one at the moment.

MC
Right. Cowboy, everyone!

TAYLOR
So what, you're not Irish anymore?

ADAM
It's bad for business. I go by Smith now. Anyway, how's about your double reel? Finished?

TAYLOR
Wait, like uhh.. Wealth of Nations?

MC
Well, folks, if anyone else feels like strumming this ol' lute you know where to find me.

TAYLOR
Hey, Cowboy! Sit with us for a sec!

COWBOY
(sitting down)
Ok. How you holding up anyhow, Taylor?

TAYLOR
Fine, fine! That was a hell of a ballad, by the way.

COWBOY
Gee, thanks.

TAYLOR
Now, Cowboy: what do we think about Adam O'Sullivan?

COWBOY
We lose Mr. O'Sullivan!

TAYLOR
How 'bout Adam Smith?

COWBOY
Hate 'em.

TAYLOR
No no, the filmmaker.

COWBOY
Don't know 'em, don't trust 'em.

TAYLOR
Then let me introduce you to New York's hidden gem and the pettiest thorn in Edison's side: Adam Smith.

COWBOY
How do you do, Mr. Smith, but where's Mr. O'Sullivan?

ADAM
Heart attack.

COWBOY
Shoot, ok. Well, you seem like a decent fellow, anyhow.

ADAM
Taylor's being generous. He's hyping himself, if anything.

TAYLOR
Anyhow, anything, any-whatever.

ADAM
Well, he's not a HIDDEN gem for much longer, but he is THE thorn. This man just shot a double reel!

COWBOY
And just what in tarnation is that?

ADAM
Twice the runtime of a single.

TAYLOR
Let's back up, Adam. Do you know what a reel is, Cowboy?

COWBOY
Not in the slightest, friend.

ADAM
How about a roll of film?

COWBOY
Sure. Once met a fella who photographed the war on Spain. He showed me how to work a camera after we had a fair bit of tequila. Good night, that was.

TAYLOR
Rolls are like.. little reels: they got about two dozen photos. Reels capture hundreds of photos that, played back in rapid succession, creates the ILLUSION of motion. 12, 16, sometimes 18 frames per second, frames meaning photos, requires a lot of footage -- meaning how many feet long the reel is if you were to unroll the whole thing and lay it flat on the floor.

COWBOY
Alrighty, and why would I do that?

TAYLOR
For cutting, maybe.

ADAM
This is all to say a reel is 1,000 feet. Taylor shot TWO for one story. A double reel.

COWBOY
And when is the premiere for this 2,000 foot long marvel?

TAYLOR
A few weeks from now, in CHICAGO.

COWBOY
Chicago!?

ADAM
Chicago!? Since when?

TAYLOR
Well, this is a very recent development between me and my distributor. You should go, Cowboy.

COWBOY
Gonna have to decline, friend. I got residency at the cafe down the street. It'd be foolish of me to leave the village before the money dries up. Heck, what's wrong with New York, anyhow?

TAYLOR AND ADAM
Thomas Edison.

COWBOY
Ah. Seems I've reached a sore point. What's the old inventor up to these days?

TAYLOR
He dried the money up, so to speak.

ADAM
Made a Trust. A FILM MONOPOLY. And he doesn't invent shit, he's a God damn parasite!

TAYLOR
(hand on Adam's shoulder)
Adam likes the Lumière bros, Méliès -- all that French stuff.
(slaps hands on table)
Here's the gist: 'bout a year and a half ago, Edison and some other Goliaths took their 16 patents in film tech and formed the Motion Pictures Patents Company. Now they nickel and dime anyone who wants to use their equipment, which happens to be the best in the business.

TAYLOR
Everyone needs a license now. Exhibitors, they need 'em to rent THOSE films or operate THOSE projectors. And starting just a couple weeks ago, all "licensed" distributors now sink into the whirlpool known as the General Film Company.

COWBOY
Mm. And how about you filummakers?

TAYLOR
Without their equipment, even our liveliest productions look low budget. We can't even use Kodak film without a license -- legally, I should say.

COWBOY
Shoot, partner, you telling me you can just get all this fancy shmancy tech under the table?

TAYLOR
Sure, but there are consequences.

COWBOY
For example?

ADAM
Dumbass goons'll smash everything and your actors.

TAYLOR
Which has yet to happen to me, thankfully, but that is only one severity of which are many.

COWBOY
Right. And what's this whole gang called again?

TAYLOR
The Motion Pictures Patents Company. MPPC.

ADAM
Most of us call it the Trust.

COWBOY
Well, this is an overwhelming amount of uh.. legality, to digest. If I found myself in the belly of a behemoth -- such as your movie making -- I'd cut my way out before I end up in the loo. Anywho, how's about a round on me?

TAYLOR
We got cut off.

COWBOY
That explains a lot. Ok then.

TAYLOR
Do you think we're bothering him?

ADAM
Shyoot, partner. Giddy-up! Suey!

EXT. NYC - GREENWICH VILLAGE - DARK STREET - LATER

ADAM
So yeah, I was wondering--.

TAYLOR
Adam, come on, get up.

TAYLOR
Adam!

ADAM
Whaa? Whooo?

TAYLOR
(helping him up)
You had a question?

ADAM
Oh, yeah
(giggles)
Why Chicago?

TAYLOR
To escape Edison.

ADAM
Wha, think they can't mail lawsuits?

TAYLOR
Mr. Smith, our continued existence as shady filmmakers suggests to me that the Trust already have their hands tied down right here in New York. It follows, then, that to increase the distance is to increase our freedom. Perhaps I arrive and they still have a strong hold over the Law -- ok. I'll further increase the distance. Do you understand where this is going? This shady industry?

ADAM
Yeah! Uhh.. n-no.

TAYLOR
To California.

ADAM
Cal.. Calfornia?

TAYLOR
Cheap land, cheap labor. We could spend less and make more.

ADAM
Movies? Or money.

TAYLOR
YES, and let me ask you this: have your shoots ever been afflicted by the weather? Slippery, sudden rain?

ADAM
Yeah?

TAYLOR
It does not rain there.

ADAM
(laughs)
No, man, that's a cliche.

TAYLOR
It is not. Listen, a few months ago D.W. Griffith shot a movie in Los Angeles. The sun shined every day. In January!

ADAM
Griff works for the Trust.

TAYLOR
Look, they only sent out a small crew. We're talking about a whole industry as far away from the Trust as anyone can get in the Union -- unless we were to follow the miners into Alaska, forgetting California's got sunshine AND diverse landscapes. Adam, I could capture the Alps in the Sierra. Keep that in mind and just remember: Méliès works for the Trust too.

ADAM
Ok, ok. But Taylor, say the goons still find you--.

TAYLOR
Baja.

ADAM
Huh?

TAYLOR
Hide in Baja.

TAYLOR (O.C.)
It's foolproof, really. I'd be in a smaller talent pool with a real chance at making a name for myself.

ADAM
I can't wait to tell Eleanor about this tomorrow.

TAYLOR (O.C.)
Oh forget her, Adam. No sense in having a woman hold you back from wonderland. If you want to go, go.

EXT. THE MOON - ROCKY LANDSCAPE - DAY

INT. NYC - SAN JUAN HILL - AUNT'S APT - KABILI'S ROOM - LATER

ADAM (O.C)
Hey.

ADAM
Sorry I called you an idiot.

KABILI
(backs up to headboard)
It's.. alright.

ADAM
Really?

KABILI
Sure.

ADAM
Say uh, wanna go on an adventure?

KABILI
When?

ADAM
Well, now.

EXT. NYC - THE BRONX - EDISON STUDIOS - LATER

INDISTINCT VOICE (O.C)
Psst!

DARK FIGURE/ADAM
Boo! Heheh.

KABILI
Adam -- Sir, I can't go in there.

ADAM
Hey, is that you talking or your aunt?

KABILI
Me. Hundred percent.

ADAM
But I need your help! Kabiliii!!!

KABILI
Shhh! Shh! Shh! Sh!

ADAM
Ok ok... haha. Get up here.

KABILI
What are we even doing here?

ADAM
Look, I'm leaving town and--

KABILI
Leaving!?

ADAM
--yess, and you're coming with me. Just need to grab something real quick.

KABILI
Um... ok.
(walking up stairs)
We are alone, yes?

ADAM
We can talk philosophical conundrums later, Bill. Come on.

INT. NYC - THE BRONX - EDISON STUDIOS - MOMENTS LATER

KABILI
(whisper shout)
What are you doing!?

ADAM
WE. Don't lose focus. Hold, please.

ADAM (O.C.)
WE are sending a message, Billilly. You and me. Hell if I know what we're saying, but... um.. Where is uhhh... Ah! Here we are.

ADAM
Gimme a hand. C'mon!

ADAM
Grab it here. And bring that bottom leg in. Alright, now, left loosey. I said lefty!

KABILI
(whispering, yelling, unscrewing the tripod)
This IS my left, man!

ADAM
Well, just take it easy. Let's not strip the screwy bits. Heh heh.

KABILI
You alright?

ADAM
There's no film in here. We need film.

KABILI
Naw, we need to leave.

ADAM
Billy, if there were a guard here don't you think they'd've found us?

ADAM
RUN, SOCRATES!

EXT. THE MOON - FUNGAL FOREST - DAY

INT. NYC - SUBWAY - LATER