kivatown

FIGHTGIRL, SPOOKYMAN, PLANET CITY, GOSH scenes 1-7

I had become sick of Marvel and most superhero movies as early as 2016. My hatred for that genre was more passionate then than now, so I set out to write a screenplay in opposition of it. Instead of world ending stakes, it would be a simple story. Instead of a muscly dude or a female protagonist who fills a neoliberal role like espionage or jet pilots, it is just a nerdy girl trying to do the right thing in a world she is obsessed over but does not yet fully perceive in a healthy or mature way. Anyway, at the time it was my first attempt at a screenplay and I was only 18. My kind of humor at the time was edgy for the sake of edgy: sometimes funny, sometimes just no. The 2010s algorithms and the conversations around small town people affected my mind in not ok ways. Basically, I don't think I was mentally equipped enough yet as a human being to write magnetic dialogue or to conclude the themes of the story in a meaningful way. But I learn with time, and though I'm still not sure going back to this story is the right idea, I am already 30 pages in which is like, a third? So I don't think there's any stopping me now :) it's the 2024 sleeper hit of my current art projects, and going back to it - when it feels right - feels really right.


FADE IN:

EXT. SATURN RINGS - PLANET CITY ORBIT

INT. PASSENGER SHIP - ORBITAL DESCENT - SUNSET

TERRAFORMER 1
You hear about the new fossil?

TERRAFORMER 2
Or the old one?

PLUMBER
Well, uh, no and no.

TERRAFORMER 2
Really! But it's only the talk of every moon.

TERRAFORMER 1
Not his. Five months with beautiful us and he's still thinking about his villainous rock!

PLUMBER
Look, plumbing Titan ain't easy.One minute, the pipes work and I'm freezing; the next, I'm warm and they don't.

TERRAFORMER 2
That's the nature of terraforming: change.

PLUMBER
You can't change gravity. A life in Planet City didn't prepare me for-

TERRAFORMER 1
Your first away job?

TERRAFORMER 2
Happy it's over?

PLUMBER
Yes and yes.

TERRAFORMER 1
Get many TOURISTS these days?

PLUMBER
No, not these days...

FIGHTGIRL
...What?

TERRAFORMERS AND PLUMBER
Hi.

TERRAFORMER 1
Where you from?

TERRAFORMER 2
What's your name?

PLUMBER
Which name?

TERRAFORMER 2
Huh?

PLUMBER
Villain's got two names.

FIGHTGIRL
'scuse me, but I'm Fightgirl and I am NOT a villain.

TERRAFORMER 1
Ok, but where you from?

FIGHTGIRL
Bumfuck, Ohio.

TERRAFORMER 1
(floating to her)
An Earthling!

TERRAFORMER 2
(floating too)
Visiting?

FIGHTGIRL
Moving. Permanently.

TERRAFORMER 2
Wow.

TERRAFORMER 1
When's your first crime?

FIGHTGIRL
Guys, I'm not a villain! I'm a superhero.

TERRAFORMER 2
A.. superhero? What's that?

FIGHTGIRL
Just an old word. I wanna be like Dudeman.

PLUMBER
S'what they all say, but there's ONE shepherd and always villains.

FIGHTGIRL
I said I wanna be LIKE Dudeman. No shepherding, just muscles and a need to punch bad people.

TERRAFORMER 1
Muscles, alright!

FIGHTGIRL
That tickles!

TERRAFORMER 2
How'd you stay in shape during space travel? You know Planet City's near zero-g, right?

FIGHTGIRL
I flex my muscles really hard when I'm board. Like this.

TERRAFORMER 2
..ok!

TERRAFORMER 1
They're pretty thin down there. What if they call you Fatgirl?

FIGHTGIRL
...I didn't think about that.

PLUMBER
Fatgirl--I mean--Fightgirl!

PLUMBER
Listen, Fightgirl, we got some vigilantes too, but it's a tough life out here. Eventually you learn a trade like me or you commit crimes to get by. You understand? It's hard. Not like the comics.

FIGHTGIRL
I know... but-

STEWARDESS
(slight jumpscare)
HI! We're beginning our descent now. Please fasten your seatbelts.

TERRAFORMERS
The desceeeent.

FIGHTGIRL
Sooo like, who are you two?

TERRAFORMER 2
Recruiters! Wanna join?

TERRAFORMER 1
Terraformers from Titan. Tryna snag more funding from Corporateman.

PLUMBER
He's just a villain too.

TERRAFORMER 2
A big villain with big money!

FIGHTGIRL
Corporateman's interested in Titan?

TERRAFORMER 1
Early investments mean big bucks. Earth 2.0 is a couple generations away but there's valuable resources on Titan right now. My guess? It's because Planet City is a decaying piece of-

STEWARDESS
Welcome to Planet City, a miracle and beacon of hope.

EXT. PORT ENTRANCE - NIGHT

INT. PASSENGER SHIP - TUNNEL DESCENT - CONTINUOUS

FIGHTGIRL
You know Ohio's gone, right?

TERRAFORMER 1
Yeah, yeah, Yellowstone eruption. "Never forget" and all that.

STEWARDESS
Born from the ashes of the 21st century, Planet city is the branchild of the prophetic Dr. Rot; as is Dudeman, his hold chi-

TERRAFORMER 1
No kidding. So he's a couple hundred years old?

FIGHTGIRL
Yup!

PLUMBER
That's what makes him the shepherd.

STEWARDESS
Yes, his longevity is a marvel we should all aspire for. as I was saying, the initial idea for Pla-

STEWARDESS
Ok. Landing in Five. Thanks.

TERRAFORMER 2
Owie!

FIGHTGIRL
I'm gonna kick your butt, bro.

PLUMBER
So what about that new fossil?

TERRAFORMER 1
Huh? Oh: a robot on Europa found a marine fossil. Billion years old.

PLUMBER
That's cool.

STEWARDESS
Buckle up, please.

FIGHTGIRL
Sure
(sits next to stewardess)
What was it you were gonna say?

STEWARDESS
Oh, just dumb stuff our boss makes us recite to visitors - mind you, no one does anymore.

FIGHTGIRL
Why's that?

STEWARDESS
You know, those men are right: this place is a dump. Every day there's less opportunities and less room.

FIGHTGIRL
So why doesn't the city spread over The Wall?

STEWARDESS
Ah, that's a can of worms I like to know little of.

FIGHTGIRL
Ok, well... I hope you're ok.

STEWARDESS
What?

FIGHTGIRL
You seem stressed. Are you ok?

STEWARDESS
Super. The Saturnalia Flight Monopoly got me on indentured servitude for another year, but it beats rotting in Villain Prison.

FIGHTGIRL
Oh.. want a hug?

STEWARDESS
No! But thanks, honestly.

INT. DOCKING TUNNEL - CONTINUOUS

INT. PASSENGER SHIP - TUNNEL DESCENT - CONTINUOUS

PLUMBER
Home, sweet home.

INT. GRIMY PORT BAY - MEANWHILE

[to reduce description redundancy: unless stated otherwise, every Planet City native is remarkably thin to an alien degree. A multi-generational effect of low gravity.]

TERRAFORMER 1
(exiting ship)
Alright

TERRAFORMER 2
(exiting ship)
LET'S GO

FIGHTGIRL
Thank you!
(hits head on low doorway)
Ow! Embarrassingggg.

STEWARDESS
Hang on..

STEWARDESS
Same size? Good
(slips shoes off)
Sticky shoes. You'll need 'em.

FIGHTGIRL
What! Girl, no! Those are yours.

STEWARDESS
They're the company's. It's ok!

STEWARDESS
Bye. Good luck. Bye.