kivatown

FIGHTGIRL, SPOOKYMAN, PLANET CITY, GOSH scenes 13-19

INT. MONORAIL - RIDE TO VILLAIN PRISON - LATER

SPOOKYMAN
So what IS your favorite color?

FIGHTGIRL
Red. Blood. Just pure red. Hatred.

SPOOKYMAN
... Mine's magenta.

FIGHTGIRL
I just.. why would he- they-

SPOOKYMAN
I won't speak.

FIGHTGIRL
No, because they were all in on it! If YOU say the cops never go down there and the fucking news crew shows up out of nowhere- this is a scam! They were after YOU!

SPOOKYMAN
Huh-

FIGHTGIRL
They had a replica of your knife, dude. The one they faked in Dudeman's chest- man, that guy! Lit-er-a-ll-y my only idol.

SPOOKYMAN
Never idolize.

FIGHTGIRL
Aren't you angry!?

SPOOKYMAN
I process slowly. Gonna sulk in prison.

FIGHTGIRL
Great. A sulker.

SPOOKYMAN
See that? Total synthesis. State and Moon. Synonymous-

FIGHTGIRL
Planet City, yeah, yeah, thanks...
(sighs)
I'm starting to sulk.

SPOOKYMAN
Right? If they want us framed and gone, we're..

FIGHTGIRL
..O, I thought you had more to say.

INT. VILLAIN PRISON - MONORAIL STATION - LATER

DESK COP
Hey, y'all! Welcome to prison! I just caught the whole Dudeman thing on my broadcast chip.

SPOOKYMAN
Home, sweaty home!

DESK COP
Welcome back, Spook.

SPOOKYMAN
Thank you very much - you know, I had a good thing going at the airport for a few years until Fatgirl here ruined it.

FIGHTGIRL
My name is Fightgirl!

SPOOKYMAN
Really?

DESK COP
No kidding! How come you didn't correct anyone on TV?

FIGHTGIRL
As you can see, I'm very stressed.

DESK COP
Well, I'll just go ahead and adjust the records on my Supercomputer Plus Plus Mega Yosemite.
(squints eye, types)
Let's see here... xx.. back.. annnd Fightgirl. Alright! Let's get you up and those handcuffs off.

FIGHTGIRL
So you seem like an honest man. What's stopping me from fighting my way out of here?

DESK COP
Oh, well I have 56 death lasers pointing at y'all.

FIGHTGIRL
Oh, ok.

SPOOKYMAN
Duh.

FIGHTGIRL
I-.. ooo, you make me so mad.

DESK COP
Well, it's time to get along, because you two are cellmates!

FIGHTGIRL AND SPOOKYMAN
Huh..

INT. VILLAIN PRISON - CELL - LATER

SPOOKYMAN
This is stupid.

FIGHTGIRL
That's what I've been saying.

SPOOKYMAN
No, I mean being here in a cell with you. THIS is stupid.

FIGHTGIRL
BROTHER, please shut up.

SPOOKYMAN
Fake murder is stupid too.

FIGHTGIRL
You ever murder anyone?

SPOOKYMAN
Personal question.

FIGHTGIRL
Ok, so yes.

SPOOKYMAN
You must experience ego death.

FIGHTGIRL
What?

FIGHTGIRL
(tone: like scolding a pet)
Oh, stop that!

SPOOKYMAN
What?

FIGHTGIRL
No one wants to see that, bro.

SPOOKYMAN
...You're right.

LATER

FIGHTGIRL
What's that?

SPOOKYMAN
Jungle Pocket, hybrid strain.

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
Ayye, Fatgirl! You're a legend.

SPOOKYMAN
It's Fightgirl.

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
Oh, word? That works too!

SPOOKYMAN
Want some?

FIGHTGIRL
Sure.
(Spooky tosses baggie, Fightgirl catches)
Hey, you're a guard, yeah?

FIGHTGIRL
(opens bag, chews on gummy)
Mkay. So why are we sharing a cell?

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
How so?

SPOOKYMAN
We're accomplices.

FIGHTGIRL
Hey- allegedly.

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
We're at full capacity. Back in the day - and somewhat still - this place was all for show: round up the villains of the week, stick 'em in here for b-roll, then let 'em back out for Dudeman's hunt. I don't know why, but the biggie wigs are DONE with villains.

SPOOKYMAN
AND the shepherd?

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
Evidently. Sorry to say, but you're locked up for good.

FIGHTGIRL
Ok, lot to unpack, but I more-so meant like.. we're boy and girl. Don't you segregate sex for like, Iunno, reasons?

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
I mean you're both gay, right?

LATER

MATCH CUT: No longer deer. Their eyes, glazed and red.

SPOOKYMAN
We should do character intros.

FIGHTGIRL
...what...

SPOOKYMAN
I'm Spookyman..

FIGHTGIRL
uh-huh

SPOOKYMAN
I like to rob people at the airport, project psychologically traumatic visions onto my enemies, and go fishing... Next up: my friend the guard.

SPOOKYMAN
Oh. Your. turn..

FIGHTGIRL
I'm H- Fightgirl. III used to love Dudeman annnd I'mma Martian.

SPOOKYMAN
No, you're a Venusian.

FIGHTGIRL
Nuh-uh, Ol' Lunar colonies.

SPOOKYMAN
Uuuhhhhh wanna break out of here?

BANANAMAN
I HAVE A PLAN TO ESCAPE THIS HELL.

MR. BATTLEMAGE
What sorcery!?

ELVIS IMPERSONATOR
L-L-L-LISTEN up, beautiful people! Bananaman is homina-homina-hatching a plan to break outta jail!. House!

ROBERT 1.1
I can make a bomb!

CANDYMAN
I can make a monkey chain out of candy canes!

BANANAMAN
WRONG! WE SHALL SIGN A PETITION!

BANANAMAN
..GUYS? GUY SS?.. ELVIS?

ELVIS IMPERSONATOR
Ther'ain't uh ballpoint pen in this whole joint, daddy.

LATER

Spookyman: schlumped on the cell floor and slowly waking. First thing he sees (and hears): Fightgirl rattling the metal bars and making weird guttural noises.

SPOOKYMAN
Need something?

FIGHTGIRL
A guard- or is it warden? Whatever.

SPOOKYMAN
Obvious bait. Won't work.

UNSUSPECTING GUARD (OFF CAMERA)
Coming!

FIGHTGIRL
You're dumb. We're breaking out.

SPOOKYMAN
How-

FIGHTGIRL
Iunno, ever tried?

SPOOKYMAN
Many times.

FIGHTGIRL
Good!

SPOOKYMAN
But,

FIGHTGIRL
Ok.

SPOOKYMAN
We got close!

FIGHTGIRL
Sure. Who's we- SHH! Hey, hi!

UNSUSPECTING GUARD Eyy, Fightgirl and Spookyman! Aha. What can I- oof`!

FIGHTGIRL
Now what!?

SPOOKYMAN
Hogtie.

FIGHTGIRL
Uhh, with what?

UNSUSPECTING GUARD
(suspecting)
Wait a minute!

SPOOKYMAN
Uuuhh, ummm.

FIGHTGIRL
(gurgley voice)
Release all the prisoners.

RADIO GUARD
Annnd who are we speaking to? Over.

SPOOKYMAN
Dudeman's employer speaking. Ratings came back, anarchy needed. Do we have a problem? ASAP. Over.

RADIO GUARD
......C-c-copy, C-C-C-Corporateman.

FIGHTGIRL
Maybe we should lock 'em back up?

MR. BATTLEMAGE
What sorcery!?

SPANDEX SECURITY GUARD
(pouncing through door)
FREEZ- Oh gosh darn heck no!

INT. VILLAIN PRISON - FRONT LOBBY - MOMENTS LATER

LOBBY GUARD
Well, you should see the death laser monorail station we have down below. This lobby's just for show.

PCN REPORTER
As is much of the security here while nearing max capacity.

LOBBY GUARD
Can I speak off record?

PCN REPORTER
No.

LOBBY GUARD
I don't even keep my walkie on.

PCN REPORTER
Please continue, silly man.

LOBBY GUARD
Hey! I am an officer of the Law and there is nothing to worry about!

LOBBY GUARD
Hey! Help me too?

FIGHTGIRL
Don't wanna, byyyeee!

PCN REPORTER
Thanks for the help, hero.

FIGHTGIRL
(blushes)
H-huh

PCN REPORTER
You're not seriously called Fatgirl, right? You seemed flustered by stardom.

FIGHTGIRL
Yeah, so my name is Fightgirl, uhhh

PCN REPORTER
Why don't we stay here a while?

FIGHTGIRL
We're 4 meters above a riot..

FIGHTGIRL
Wait are you a cop-

PCN REPORTER
(smiles)
NO. I'm a reporter for Planet City News. Say, how would you like to come back to HQ for a proper interview? You and I, no cameras.

FIGHTGIRL
Think I'm wanted for manslaughter.

PCN REPORTER
Well, however this all occurred, there'll be a whole lotta worse villains running around than supposed you. You're hot on the block, that's all. Toss a disguise on and the cops'll give up quick. So. HQ?

FIGHTGIRL
(thinking, then)
Can Spooky come?

PCN REPORTER
He gives me the ick.

FIGHTGIRL
No girl, he's actually ok.

BANANAMAN
YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND, THIS IS A LEGAL DOCUMENT. OUR VOICE IS ONE.

FIGHTGIRL
Two.

BANANAMAN
AAAHHH HMMMM. CAN I PUT YOUR NAME DOWN AND MAKE STUFF UP?

FIGHTGIRL
Bananaman, you know that is not right. It would be down right undemocratic. But sure.

FIGHTGIRL
Spookym she's a PCN report. She can take us to their HQ!

SPOOKYMAN
Who faked the murder?

PCN REPORTER
Faked?

SPOOKYMAN
Fake.

PCN REPORTER
Hey, I'm offering you and your buddy here a chance to clear your name across the whole solar system.

SPOOKYMAN
Do it then. Already. We don't need your help. We're not offering ours.

PCN REPORTER
(scoffs, turns)
Sorry, Fatgirl.

FIGHTGIRL
And what was that?

SPOOKYMAN
We don't work for them.

FIGHTGIRL
Ok, heard.

SPOOKYMAN
If we don't leave with the crowd we'll be swallowed by pigs.

FIGHTGIRL
I'm walking! Thanks.